The Books of My Numberless Dreams

Quiz – Day Four (technically)

Posted on: April 24, 2008

Thursday quiz at OUP

Section Seven: Espionage and Intrigue
1. Spy for Walsingham and stabbed in a brawl, as legend has it.
2. Pseudo-equine archetypal guise for malice.
3. The Prince’s schoolmates set against him by a usurping uncle.
4. An anarchist plots to blow up the Greenwich Observatory.
5. A holiday sailing trip cum plot to foil the Germans.

Section Eight: Political Animals
1. A sea monster lends its name to his principle of a strong state.
2. Taking America as a model, it Pained the English government.
3. Her vindication laid the foundations for modern feminism.
4. For everyone and no-one, this book killed the deity.
5. This tract takes its title from a head of state.

10 Responses to "Quiz – Day Four (technically)"

I think they’re making it easier as they go along…

7.1 Marlowe?
7.2 The Greeks in the Trojan horse
7.3 Hamlet vs Rosencrantz & Guildenstern in “Hamlet” by Shakespeare

8.1 “Leviathan” by Thomas Hobbes
8.2 This question…I’m not sure whether to say “Common Sense” or “Rights of Man” by Thomas Paine. I’ll do with the second.
8.3 You’re giving it away now! “Vindication of the Rights of Women” by Mary Wollstonecraft
8.4 Die Fröhliche Wissenschaft aka “The Gay Science” by Nietzsche?
8.5 The Prince by Machiavelli

My guess: 7.4: Joseph Conrad’s The Secret Agent.

I thought this one was harder.

7.1 is definately Marlowe
7.5 “Riddle of the Sands” although I can’t remember the author. Erskine?

I double-checked the author on Amazon. It was Erskine Childers. (It drives me nuts when I forget an authors name, especially when I’ve read the book.)

Dorothy aha! Another author I’ve yet to read (if I ever will).

Beepy this one probably paid to my strengths because I’m in Poli Sci. Although I say this now and when the answers come out tomorrow I’ll be embarrassed.

Childers? Never heard of him/her. Iiiinteresting. Is it a good book?

Great- by taking these quizzes I can show off my piss-poor background in literature. The clues remind me of a crossword puzzle. I am terrible at crossword puzzles.

Section Seven: Espionage and Intrigue

1. Spy for Walsingham and stabbed in a brawl, as legend has it.- Reilly Ace of Spies

2. Pseudo-equine archetypal guise for malice.- Falsehorses’s Revenge

3. The Prince’s schoolmates set against him by a usurping uncle.- OK even I know this one. Rosencrantz and Guildenstern, Hamlet, right ?

4. An anarchist plots to blow up the Greenwich Observatory. -Hamlet, right ?

5. A holiday sailing trip cum plot to foil the Germans. -I’m sure it’s a good book, but this description make it sound real goofy.

Section Eight: Political Animals

1. A sea monster lends its name to his principle of a strong state.- Leviathan

2. Taking America as a model, it Pained the English government. – Oh, this has something to do with Thomas Paine !

3. Her vindication laid the foundations for modern feminism.- er… Charlotte’s Web ?

4. For everyone and no-one, this book killed the deity.-um

5. This tract takes its title from a head of state.-ah

Jeez- you would have thought the answer to one of those would have been Animal Farm. It doesn’t get much more political animal than that.

Armand, you’re such a joker. 😀 Thanks for the funny answers — have to agree with you on the “goofy” description.

Thanks for every other informative web site. The place else could I get that kind of information written in such a perfect manner? I’ve a undertaking that I’m simply now running on, and I’ve been on the glance out for such information.

Pre-designed, or custom design graphics? That is a question that every modern designer asks himself from time to time. Even if you’re a great artist, sometimes the deadlines are just too short, or that wave of inspiration did not hit yet. Whatever the reason, there are many of solutions available. 

very good publish, i certainly love this website, keep on it

Leave a comment

Archives