The Books of My Numberless Dreams

Holiday cheer

Posted on: December 26, 2007

¹My life has been a life of trouble and turmoil; of change and vicissitude; of anger and exultation; of sorrow and vengeance. My sorrows have all been for a slighted gospel, and my vengeance has been wreaked on its adversaries. Therefore, in the might of heaven I will sit down and write: I will let the wicked of this world know what I have done in the faith of the promises, and justification by grave, that they may read and tremble, and bless their gods of silver and gold, that the minister of heaven was removed from their sphere before their blood was mingled with their sacrifices.

That’s how you do an opening.

From The Private Memoirs and Confessions of a Justified Sinner by James Hogg

¹Ok, technically it’s not the actual opening of the novel since the hero’s memoir starts further in the “Editor’s” narrative but you get what I’m saying. The actual novel’s opening works pretty well too,btw: it begins pretty hum drum which belies the ridiculous antics that begin further down the first page.

3 Responses to "Holiday cheer"

A great, or near great, book. Enjoy.

I really loved it, although one must take into account that I haven’t read an excellent novel since October, and that may be affecting my excitement.

I’m curious to find out what blog platform you are utilizing? I’m
having some minor security problems with my latest
website and I’d like to find something more secure. Do you have any recommendations?

Leave a Reply

Archives

