The Books of My Numberless Dreams

*This festal day, twenty-four times returning

Posted on: December 13, 2007

Hello, hello. I’m a year older, today. Isn’t that something? I have a Pakistani friend who, of the same age, is warding off her parents who are busily trying to wrangle her into an arranged marriage. Age is something she often thinks about. I, on the other hand, forgot it was my birthday until I received the first phone call this morning.

I have a treat for you. A mindful Everday Yeah contributor found my blog and linked me to an interview with Jesse Ball. I first learnt of the writer earlier this year in a regular foray through the Paris Review archives. I held no assumptions about his age or literary experience then, but when I saw and read of his latest novel Samedi the Deafness I assumed it was his first and imagined that he was some young buck, one who primarily considers himself a novelist and probably didn’t have a substantial poetry portfolio yet. (I can’t help it. As much as I love poetry, novels reign by default.) I was so so wrong. Which is rather exciting because if the few poems I’ve read are representative of his work I’ll need to get one of his poetry books immediately.

Here’s an interview excerpt:

EDY: I won’t pretend to be a great scholar of the term Kafkaesque which seems to immediately put me at a disadvantage when I read your book because of all the reviews I’ve read people are quick to describe Samedi as a Kafkaesque story. I understand where they’re coming from, but in a way I’m jealous because the term is thrown around so much and I know I’ll never feel comfortable enough myself to use it when describing a work of fiction. Anyway, I ended up at Wikipedia to try and boost my knowledge on the subject, but only read the cultural references of Kafkaesque. One particular reference stood out in my mind. It’s a quote from Woody Allen’s Annie Hall, “Having sex with you is really a Kafkaesque experience. I mean that as a compliment.” Now, I am only a novice on the subject, but if it were up to me I would have retired the term right then and there. No one’s going to top that. Bill Watterson made a valid effort in his comic strip when he had Hobbes say that “People need goodnight smooches so they don’t get Kafka dreams,” but I feel like he took a different route entirely with the term. So, this isn’t really a question. Maybe just talk about your thoughts on Kafka. If this seems like a waste of your time please either tell me or ignore the whole thing and pretend you didn’t see this question.
JB: Kafka — too many people read him badly. You have to find the gentleness in him — the love, the comedy. And of course — his clearness.

I missed the “Kafkaesque” comparison but I quoted this bit because, if you remember, I initially passed over Samedi the first time I saw it a store display. The cover design caught my eye but the Graham Greene comparison — it was expressed awkwardly too, I think, the reviewer tried to turn it into an adjective — made me roll my eyes dismissively. (It took a Boldtype review to remind me that the author was the poet Ball.) Ball’s comments are also interesting because Kafka’s “gentleness…love and comedy” are definitely not words I’ve often seen associated with his fiction.

Everyday Yeah is worth a browse on its own. I am not one for fiction of any length on-line, but these short short pic and story pieces managed to suck me in. Their “random musings” quality, the way they sometimes concentrate on a detail and develop it, or concentrate on one for a few sentences and then leap on to another association, carry an adventurous quality. I wanted to have them on paper in a little booklet I could flip through, which is always a good sign. The book reviews are enjoyable for the writers’ voices alone (detailed criticism is not necessarily the focus), and the aphorisms are satisfyingly weird. There’s a lot to uncover there; it’s always nice to anticipate something promising.

Another site worth perusal is People Reading. Sonya Worthy once travelled through parts of North America to discover what nations got up to with books outside of home. She’s back in San Francisco but she never lost the urge to poke a bit at anyone seen reading a book. I’m a nosy person so I never get tired of finding out.

*Cheeky reference to this poem.

17 Responses to "*This festal day, twenty-four times returning"

Happy, happy birthday, Imani.

Happy Birthday!

And what you said about your friend freaked me out, in light of recent news. I hope her parents are merely annoying (like most parents!).

Many happy returns Imani๐Ÿ™‚

Happy Birthday! It’s my godson’s seventeenth today and as I said to his despairing mother (He’s great, but very definitely seventeen!) she should be glad he’s a muggle because if he’d been a wizard he’d be of age and she’d have him disapparating all over the place. I’m sure you’re much better behaved.

First, let me say Hap. Birth! (december babies are the best)
Second, Thank you very much for the post. I appreciate every thing you said.

Thanks to everyone for the birthday wishes. There was alcohol, books and much merriment, which is all anyone can ask really. Also, cake!

Sylvia, recent news? What have I missed? (I do not think her situation is dire, thankfully.)

Ann, ha, my mother probably had similar thoughts about me at that age.๐Ÿ˜‰ That was a great line, though.

Everdayyeah, thank you and you’re very welcome. I love finding good literary sites.

Happy belated birthday wishes! I hope you had a great day, despite having forgotten all about it.๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve never forgotten my birthday, but I have forgotten how old I was more than once. I’m guessing that should not be happening to a person in her mid-twenties.

Happy Birthday to you! Happy Birthday to you!
Today the 14th is my mothers birthday.

Do you really want to know? There’s a girl in England who is under police protection because she ran away to avoid an arranged marriage and has received very credible death threats. And then there’s the Mississauga girl who was strangled by her own father (according to his admission) this week for running around without a hijab.๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Happy Birthday, Imani. Hope you had a great day.

Best (belated) wishes for your birthday, Imani!
About People Reading, I love staring at people who are reading novels during their commute,mainly to guess what they’re reading, but I hate being stared at in the subway while reading, how weird! Americans are more open and courageous than Europeans when it comes to start a conversation with strangers.

Thank you, thank you, thank you to all the new wishes. I appreciate them.

Sylvia, I see, I see, not sure how I missed those reports before. Thanks for telling me.

Miss Daisy, happy belated birthday to your mother! Everyday is right, December babies are the best.๐Ÿ˜€

Smithereens, ha, I admit I cannot resist peering at someone else’s cover too, and I don’t mind the gesture being returned. Perhaps Canadians are braver too? I’ve made friends with three different people at my regular cafe stops, all made via a shared interest in reading.

Happy belated! Your’s is the day before mine! Hope it was great.

Hello mates, fastidious post and pleasant arguments
commented at this place, I am in fact enjoying by these.

Leave a Reply

Archives

