The Books of My Numberless Dreams

The Pooterer is in

Posted on: December 11, 2007

Is the blog title work safe? Anyway, two fluffy items appear for your viewing pleasure. First the “first lines of the month” meme which I spotted at the Classical Bookworm.

January: “One day Chuang Tzu fell asleep, and while he slept
he dreamed that he was a butterfly, flying happily about,
And this butterfly did not know that it was Chuang Tzu
dreaming.”

February: Lee is caught smoking pot at her boarding school and is expelled.

March: I’m not going out today if I can help it.

April: March was a decent month for books.

May: Moravagine was…it was something, rather, it was many things all of which I’m still trying to pin down.

June: I am busily trying to come up with a respectable post on the Ford novel, resisting the temptation to indulge in The Land of Spices‘ muted raptures.

July: It’s the beginning of July and a friend and I are planning to move out because our land lord proved especially stubborn towards admitting the most adorable, tiny, well-behaved basset hound in our midsts.

August: My first encounter with Adam Zagajewski’s Without End: New and Selected Poems was a bit discouraging: read the first poem, thought it was really good, moved on to others and met a solid blank wall.

September: In the past I expressed a wish to read a collection such as this when I read “Gode’s Story” in A.S. Byatt’s Djinn in the Nightingale’s Eye, originally published in Possession.

October: After reading both poems, “A Myth on Innocence” and “A Myth on Devotion”, despite Hades’ largely indubitable, loving tone expressed in the second, it’s Persephone’s uncertainty that my reaction more closely resembled.

November: The Short Review is a new site that was launched today by Tania Hershman, a short story writer, to provide reviews of short stories by other writers.

December: “Over the coming year, Open Letters will be proud to serialize Adam Golaski’s innovative translation of Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, presenting each new part on its completion.”

Hmm…interesting.

Then we have the 13-books-I-should-have-read meme that I spotted in a few places but the only I can remember now is Pages turned (which conveniently links to two other bloggers who did it too).

  • Black Sunlight by Dambudzo Marechera: The excerpt on The Mumpsimus was enough to convince me that he was a writer worth reading. As it turns out the writer of the VQR article in that post also wrote a book I intended to read.
  • Letty Fox: Her Luck by Christina Stead: Woman author? Check. NYRB Classic? Check. I read the excerpt available on Amazon just for fun. It sounds that good. Why the heck haven’t I read it yet? Beats me.
  • Dream Wheels by Richard Wagamese: I discovered this one when I browsed the new shelf at the campus library earlier this year after picking up the latest from David Treuer.
  • The Healers by Ayi Kwei Armah: I had this grand notion of honouring the Literary Saloon‘s anniversary by reading one of the reviewed Complete Review books. Yeah…didn’t turn out too well. Next year!
  • The Victorian Chaise-lounge by Marghanita Laski: This one got mentioned on a lot of blogs last year, including Danielle‘s. I think it’s a Persephone book. It sounded fun and loopy. I like loopy.
  • Riders in the Chariot by Patrick White: This was also probably a part of my grand Literary Saloon project, but besides that, the bloggers there champion White any chance they can get. Their insistence worked! Sort of. He’s on my mind, anyway, and the NYRB Classics have a lovely edition.
  • Waiting for an Angel by Helon Habila: He wrote the VQR piece on Marechera but I’d heard of this novel long before then. How long ago I’m not sure but it is also lurking on the periphery, waiting to be acquired.
  • Virgin Soil by Turgenev: Here lieth another grand project: Russian literature. 2007 was to be the year that I burst through the obscure, intimidating wall that for so long had prevented me from attempting it. Then I got Demons and all the other Russians had to wait. (Sorry, ol’ Turg.)
  • An Abundance of Katherines by John Green: It was a Cybils nominee; he’s a YA blogger favourite; I liked the cover. Next year!
  • Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy: Yeah, too many people talked about him this year. I should probably get to it before they distorted into a movie.
  • On the Ideal Orator by Cicero: This one has awaited an audience since 2006. My readings were comparatively less diverse this year with non-fiction taking a killing. I just didn’t feel up to tackling the old bird.
  • Another Hollinghurst novel: When I find a book I really enjoy I try to read more from the same author. I almost picked up Folding Star this morning but the openings in The Virgin of Flames by Abani and Eclipse by Banville won out.
  • Brown Girl in the Ring by Nalo Hopkinson: Was never in the right mood for this one. Tried to get by the first page and couldn’t, not because it was bad, but because I just wasn’t feeling it. It’s one I’ll pick up intermittently until the stars align.
12 Responses to "The Pooterer is in"

I can’t believe anyone would find a basset hound objectionable. They’re as much of a nuisance as throw pillows.

Will you be reading Virgin Soil in 2008 then? I’m still trying to find the time to read Demons AND Virgin Soil. Hoping the Russian Reading Challenge will motivate me more to reading them.

*sigh* So many books, so little time.

What happened to the basset hound?

That was fun. With finals in the air, I’m taking your cue and doing these too!

I don’t even want to try my hand at the 13 I should have read – I think it might just depress me.

Your first lines are a wonderful example of your wit – always fun to read your blog, Imani. (not to mention interesting!)

Sylvia yes, well, it was clear he wasn’t interested in keeping us as tenants. Or rather, he thought we’d give up and hang around.

Dark Orpheus I think so. I still do want to get to Turgenev and Virgin Soil is the book I wand to do it with.

Ann she kept it and opted to move in with the bf, I decided to stick with roommates and got a cat in the bargain. Worked out quite well.

Ted I’ll pop over to see them.

Verbivore, thank you! I was just gratified at how many directly referred to books.

Sorry to hear you didn’t get the basset hound, but a cat is a good substitute–and you don’t have to walk a cat! And the Laski book was creepy. You can easily read it in one sitting–I should reread it myself. I have another novel of hers on my TBR pile (The Village), which is supposed to be good in a different way.

No, you don’t, which is nice compensation, although I do get jealous of the dog walkers in the park (sometimes).

Maybe I’ll make the Laski book one of my Christmas reads.

I meant to read Letty Fox this year, too. I’m currently reading another Stead, one that came from the library, because, you know, library books should be read first.

A lot of of the things you assert is supprisingly appropriate and it makes me wonder the reason why I had not looked at this in this light previously. This article really did switch the light on for me as far as this specific topic goes. But there is actually just one position I am not necessarily too cozy with and while I attempt to reconcile that with the actual main idea of the point, permit me see exactly what all the rest of the visitors have to point out.Well done.

On the end from the loan period, truckers who have produced all with the payments and maintained the loan agreement own the truck.

If you’re in the market for one or much more employed semi trucks for sale, you
are probably worrying about how to locate the top deal.

I reckon something genuinely interesting about your site so I saved to fav.

Leave a Reply

Archives

