The Books of My Numberless Dreams

Sunday Salon: coming to a close

Posted on: December 2, 2007

It’s getting late. Thanks to all who read my postings for today. I thought I’d do another Hodgson entry but decided to leave that alone and give you a poem instead, which is about reading, so it’s a good replacement. It was printed in the December 6th issue of the NYRB. It was perfectly suited, I thought, for notebook prosperity. So I scribbled it down.

This page is a cloud by Derek Walcott

This page is a cloud between whose fraying edges
a headland with mountains appears brokenly
then is hidden again until what emerges
from the now cloudless blue is the grooved sea
and the whole self-naming island, its ochre verges,
its shadow-plunged valleys and a coiled road
threading the fishing villages, the white, silent surges
of combers along the coast, where a line of gulls has arrowed
into the widening harbour of a town with no noise,
its streets growing closer like print you can read,
two cruise ships, schooners, a tug, ancestral canoes,
as a cloud slowly covers the page and it goes
white again and the book comes to a close.

Good night.

tssbadge1.png

3 Responses to "Sunday Salon: coming to a close"

This brought back good memories of hearing Wolcott read, years ago. Thanks.

Wonderful poem! Thanks for sharing it!

You’re welcome, frumious and Stefanie. 🙂

Frumious, I am rather jealous. I’m not a huge Walcott fan but I have enjoyed what I read.

Leave a Reply

Archives

