The Books of My Numberless Dreams

Whoa, whoa, whoa

Posted on: December 1, 2007

Over the coming year, Open Letters will be proud to serialize Adam Golaski’s innovative translation of Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, presenting each new part on its completion. The following section, beginning the first of the poem’s four fits, immediately precedes the first appearance of the Knight. – The Editors

2 Responses to "Whoa, whoa, whoa"

‘Whoa’ is right: it got me to do a double take, at least. Certainly an interesting translation, and surprisingly readable, though a far cry from what I’m used to. What then, are we supposed to make of this very contemporary Gawain? A small part of me is horrified, but I’m mostly intrigued.

Also, I love reading your blog, and have for quite a while now, though I don’t believe I’ve yet taken the time to express my appreciation.🙂

I have the benefit (?) of not having read the romance yet so I have nothing with which to compare. I thought I would be horrified too but I really enjoyed the coupling of the mostly archaic phrasing with the internet-style contractions. Serialising it online was really the way to go there — and I’m so impressed that an online magazine is the one doing it. Can’t wait for the next one.

Thank you very much for the positive feedback. It is always appreciated, especially when it comes from infrequent commenters.🙂 Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

Archives

