The Books of My Numberless Dreams

Creepy

Posted on: November 16, 2007

It looks like Graywolf did it again. The successful record is kinda creepy. I’m not merely enjoying My Christina and Other Stories, it’s that I’m compelled to pull out my print-critic-murdering moleskin to think my way through what I’ve read so far, even though I had no intentions of doing so at the outset, and am not even half-way through the book. (Some books I want to scribble about, some I don’t, and the urge isn’t a consistent indication of how good I consider a book to be. But I never want to scribble about a bad one: I just write “Ugh!” in the margins.) This collection was published in 1967 but it reads as fresh as anything coming out now (better even) and…whoa.

So I got all excited and thought, I need a Graywolf catalogue! I went to the site and saw that they had already started a 30% Christmas sale, and my desire became acute. Only to discover that they don’t seem to ship it to Canada. However, you must all understand — my Graywolf reads have not been good, they have not been excellent, not even wow, they have been I-have-to-slow-down-so-that-I-can-keep-this-orgasmic-feeling-for-as-long-as-possible. (That’s more like a WHOOOOAAAAAAAA.) I am attached to print catalogues and am not willing to settle for lame internet browsing through categories. Therefore, I e-mailed the press to tell them, look, what’s the deal with not listing Ontario as a shipping destination? I’ll pay you to send it to me, OK, I’ll pay (depending on how much it costs, I am a poor student). I…I need the catalogue man. (I wrote something similar to Godine years ago. It wasn’t a catalogue request it was…something about Andre Dubus, because I’d read maybe one or two of his short story collections at that point, and I thought I’d seen God. Maybe that’s what I e-mailed ’em about? I hope not, that would be silly.)

Thanks, I needed to get that off my chest.

6 Responses to "Creepy"

Imani,
You were kind enough to leave a comment at my blog, so I thought I would pay a return visit. I don’t know how you found my blog, but I am glad you did since it led me to yours. You are wise about texts beyond your years, based on the reading around I’ve done here.

May I link to your blog?

I look forward to returning soon.

John B. thank you very much for the nice comment! I’ve been lurking at your blog for some time now; I found you through metaxu, which I often browse.

Of course, you may link to my blog.🙂 See you soon!

Thank you, ma’am. And may I just say I’m a huge Coltrane fan, too.

Imani… friend, sister… I am sorry I have been out of touch for so long… I am doing NaNoWriMo and while I am 30,000 words into it already, all I can think of right now is that I am terribly behind. Please forgive me for not staying in touch.🙂
JCR

Oh, that’s odd J.B., your comment all the way up there. Anyway, you’re very welcome and it’s always nice to meet another Coltrane fan!

JCR, you are two sweet. I am still reading your blog so I don’t feel as if you’re out-of-touch at all. Don’t worry about it, and good like with NaNoWriMo!

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Leave a Reply

Archives

