The Books of My Numberless Dreams

Go me

Posted on: October 18, 2007

I’ve been lucky in book give-aways recently. I won a copy of a special South American Virginia Quarterly issue at The Old Hag and four Akashic books (woo!) from the fabulous Maud Newton (whose site doesn’t seem to be working at the moment). The books are Song for Night (First Chapter excerpt) another novella by Chris Abani (woo woo!), The Girl with the Golden Shoes by Colin Channer (heh), The Swing Voter of Staten Island by Arthur Nersesian and A Fictional History of the United States with Huge Chunks Missing edited by T. Cooper and Adam Mansbach. Then I discovered a minute ago that I received a LibraryThing early review copy of Desire and Its Shadow by Ana Clavel who is, I think, a Mexican author.

I also bought a few books earlier this week after going through a purchasing drought in September.

Ingo and Tide Knot by Helen Dunmore – Wow America, you got some ugly cover. Sucks to no longer be in the Commonwealth, I guess.)

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien  – My third copy now. I lent the first, lost the second (which I do not regret because it had a horrible printed movie sticker).

Spaceman Blues: A Love Song by Brian Slatterly – It’s funny how out of place the cover made it look in the science fiction section. Truth be told, I went looking in among the Fiction & Literature shelves first.

7 Responses to "Go me"

Wow, congrats on all the book wins! It’s so fun to have new stuff to read. So you went through a buying drought, that is too bad. I was able to catch up on my shopping and even get a few for the TBR shelf. To me this is like money in the bank! Have a great weekend!

You have been lucky! I won a book from Library Thing last month, but the book never showed up. I don’t think anyone got a book from this publisher. It’s a pity as I wanted to read it–Now I am hoping my library orders it. I also won another one this time around–Mast of the Sea. Maybe this time it will show up. Enjoy all your goodies.

Jaimie thanks! And yes, the drought was too bad, especially since it was due to me being too busy busy busy to spend much time browsing for anything.

Danielle that’s too bad about the publisher reneging on the copies. I hope that doesn’t happen to me. And yippee for you getting another book anyway!

Thanks, Eva!

I won one book during BAFAB week, but that’s it! You really lucked out.🙂

Good for you! It’s so much fun to win books!🙂

Although it is not for everyone as a whole, there may be pieces that are perfect for you.

Leave a Reply

Archives

