The Books of My Numberless Dreams

Archaic Fragment

Posted on: October 11, 2007

I was trying to love matter.
I taped a sign over the mirror:
You cannot hate matter and love form.

It was a beautiful day, though cold.
This was, for me, an extravagantly emotional gesture.

……..your poem:
tried, but could not.

I taped a sign over the first sign:
Cry, weep, thrash yourself, rend your garments–

List of things to love:
dirt, food, shells, human hair.

……..said
tasteless excess. Then I

rent the signs.

AIAIAIAI cried
the naked mirror.

Louise Glück

1 Response to "Archaic Fragment"

She really described the view in the mirror with feeling!

Leave a Reply

Archives

