The Books of My Numberless Dreams

My lucky draw in the Penguin classics sweepstakes

Posted on: August 21, 2007

Jacques the Fatalist by Denis Diderot. Whoopee! First of all it’s French, so what’s not to like? Second of all, yesterday I was showered with nine Penguin classics from a recent arts graduate, one of which was Rameau’s Nephew & d’Alembert’s Dream by the same author.

If you didn’t know by now the review blog is up. Here are the books I found intriguing: Dead Souls by Gogol (ever since the Kafka Nabokov essay his name pops up everywhere), Plays Political by George B. Shaw and Vita Nuovo by Dante Alighieri.

10 Responses to "My lucky draw in the Penguin classics sweepstakes"

Oh, that’s a good one. I had to read that book in a grad school course, and I liked it; but of course I would — it’s sort of like my beloved Sterne’s Tristram Shandy.

Congratulations. Penguin Classics declined my request, but I live in the US, is that why? I am very envious.

That is a good one. However, I filled in this form a couple of weeks ago and have yet to receive my book! Julian Macdonald Ross, Of Love and Hunger, by the way. I just wish it would hurry up and come!

I definitely recommend Gogol’s Dead Souls. Unfortunately, there are no more books left to review on the Penguin blog, but I’m looking forward to seeing what you think about Diderot!

Dorothy like the Sterne novel?😮 uh oh. Isn’t that one rather *ahem* difficult?

Christopher it shouldn’t have been because of your location. I complained to them after I went to the site and saw that they required registrants to be UK residents — they certainly didn’t add that requirement when they publicised it on the web! I got an e-mail with an apology and a book sent straight to me. (Which was nice of them since my e-mail was rather…terse.)

Maybe at the time the first batch of books was all out? Sarah says they’ve all gone now, but I don’t know if she’s referring to the second batch.

litlove that is strange! Maybe you should complain, that seems to work.😉 How nice that get to know which one you’re getting too; mine was a complete surprise.

Sarah oh, nice to get a personal rec for the Gogol. As for the Diderot, I’m just glad it was the fiction and not the philosophy.

Oh, I think you’ll like it! The Sterne novel is … odd. A bit difficult probably, but only in a very good way🙂

I read Dead Souls about 30 years ago and really enjoyed it.

neath I’ve been so distracted these days that I’ve been lagging behind on comments. Anyway, thanks for the another personal rec on the Gogol.

I’ll be receiving The Face of Another (by Abe). I’d never heard of it so I’m waiting anxiously. It’s been nearly a month now!

Oooo, that should be a good one Renee. Abe is one of the most respected 20th C Japanese authors and two of his books have been made into excellent films too.

Leave a Reply

Archives

