The Books of My Numberless Dreams

Whoa, what?

Posted on: August 12, 2007

Funniest review of the year. I read Ed’s parody of it before the original and it’s ten times funnier now. Wtf, NYTBR? Wtf.

For more fluff here’s a meme created by Sylvia at the Classical Bookworm. Then read her post on the Permanence of Parchment compared to our meagre forms of record keeping now. It’s something I worry about every time I read about libraries depending more and more on digital information.

Legend:

I’ve read it
I want to read it
I’ve seen the movie*
I’m indifferent
I have it on DVD
I want to marry the leading man/lady!

The list:

1 Wuthering Heights, Emily Brontë, 1847

2 Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen, 1813*

3 Romeo and Juliet, William Shakespeare, 1597*

4 Jane Eyre, Charlotte Brontë, 1847*

5 Gone with the Wind, Margaret Mitchell, 1936*

6 The English Patient, Michael Ondaatje, 1992

7 Rebecca, Daphne du Maurier, 1938

8 Doctor Zhivago, Boris Pasternak, 1957

9 Lady Chatterley’s Lover, DH Lawrence, 1928

10 Far from The Madding Crowd, Thomas Hardy, 1874

11 = My Fair Lady, Alan Jay Lerner, 1956*

The African Queen, CS Forester, 1935*

13 The Great Gatsby, F Scott Fitzgerald, 1925

14 Sense and Sensibility, Jane Austen, 1811*

15 = The Way We Were, Arthur Laurents, 1972

War and Peace, Leo Tolstoy, 1865

17 Frenchman’s Creek, Daphne du Maurier, 1942

18 Persuasion, Jane Austen, 1818

19 Take a Girl Like You, Kingsley Amis, 1960

20 Daniel Deronda, George Eliot, 1876

Addition:

Maurice, E.M. Forester, 1971 (posth.)

The Good Solider: A Tale of Passion, Ford Madox Ford, 1915 (If Wuthering Heights can be called a “great love story”….)

Tag, you’re it!

4 Responses to "Whoa, what?"

You don’t want to marry any of them?!?

Hitchens will take any opportunity he can get to reveal his brilliance to the masses… I mean review Harry Potter. Can we all join in asking when Hitchens will go away? I feel sorry for his children.

Sylvia nope! I always preferred Bingley in Pride & Prejudice. Give me easy-going and kind over stuck ups with issues any day of the week.

Matt heeeheee. I’ve loved that all the blogger commentary I’ve seen so far insinuated that he had a bottle of the good stuff nearby as he wrote that brilliant review.

I must do this! I have a few I’d like to marry.

Leave a Reply

Archives

