The Books of My Numberless Dreams

He’s dead!

Posted on: July 30, 2007

I’m not only ludicrously close to tears, but have an insane desire to spend all my savings to attend his funeral. Instead I’ll do a film marathon. I started out backwards with Bergman, seeing his Sarabande in a local cinema about two years ago. I knew little about the film, even less about Bergman. I started it leaned back passively in a worn seat, munching on popcorn, sipping coke, ended it with chin on hands placed on the back of the seat in front, eyes peeled, stomach twisted and mind filled with Bach’s cello suites. His other films provided experiences too overwhelming to be expressed at present but suffice it to say he is *the director, as far as I’m concerned.

The radical intimacy of Bergman

*A friend reminded me of my Teshigahara worship so…ok.

7 Responses to "He’s dead!"

I’d rather not mention the year I first sat through a Bergman festival (ahem), but what I’ll always remember about being a young man in his audience was the cozy sensation of envelopment…of being wrapped in the womb of an ardent thinker’s thoughts. His films present their arguments (as dark and violent as some of the arguments are) with great patience and in a sometimes stern, but often protective, voice.

Reading his autobiography some years back, I was surprised to find myself in the presence of a hypochandriac (laugh)…but that was before I learned to think of great artists as first of all human.

Was he really? I know little more about him outside of his work than I did when I first saw Sarabande. What attracts me to his films is similar to that in Teshigahara’s: a patient, contemplative, powerful ability to grasp the audience’s attention. (It’s actually something I associate more with Japanese cinema and was surprised to find it in a Swedish tv film.) And it proved to me that despite everything I find tragedy captivating than comedy.

Hard to believe he’s gone.

Don’t know why. He was 89. Still…

My first encounter with Bergman was in 1962. I was not yet 21. It was a campus showing of The Seventh Seal. I was stunned–it changed the way I thought about and experienced films.

I must thank Incurable Logophilia for recommending this blog. I will add it to my list of links.

I wrote about this on my blog yesterday. Very sad news indeed. He was definitely one of the top influences for my writing, and he will be missed.

(Ugh! I think my stupid comment got lost in spam again. This is so annoying.)

Jacob my first encounter with him was about the same age. My experience was very similar, especially since back in Jamaica all we had access to in theatres was the latest Hollywood dreck.

Julio I’ll be sure to check it out then.

Persona freaked me out. This was truly one of the greatest artists of the 20th century.

Leave a Reply

Archives

