The Books of My Numberless Dreams

Epilogues usually suck

Posted on: July 25, 2007

Deathly Hallows proved no exception to the rule. The 60 or so pages before it? Pure awesomeness. (How’s that for erudite criticism?) I’m all done now so I’ll be able to return attention to my blog and yours.

5 Responses to "Epilogues usually suck"

Yes, I do agree; the ending seemed either superfluous or underdone, but in no way did it really further the series. Or maybe we just can’t stand reading about that happily ever after period.

It was a bit of a let down after all that came before it. I would have liked to have known more about how Harry was doing leading a normal life after his years of fighting Voldemort. It did seem almost tacked on, a move almost for the soul purpose of making it clear there would be no more Harry Potter books.

Siew Rowling did tie an extra bow on some of her themes in it but the execution was too cheesy and anti-climatic.

Stefanie I’ve read on other sites that Rowling supposedly had it written before she completed the series. Perhaps that explains it.

It seems destined to be a scene for the movie. I agree – it sucked! I linked you on that. But… she did have fun imagining the characters older. It does nothing for the book, but I bet it was a fun exercise for her and helped imagine how they would grow up – which they had to do in this book, so I’m not surprised to hear she had written it earlier.

Ahaa, its fastidious dialogue on the topic of this paragraph here at
this webpage, I have read all that, so now me also commenting here.

Leave a Reply

Archives

