The Books of My Numberless Dreams

Threatening pictures

Posted on: June 14, 2007

Danielle posted a picture of her night table and asked for anyone willing to share photos of their towering piles. The actual number of books I’m reading is quite small, and rarely on my night table; instead they snuggle with me on the bed, or are placed gently on the floor, or hide in my bag. You managed to catch them on the bed this time.

parondtheblurry

My night table is for everything. It may have a few books that I’m re-reading but primarily it’s the resting place for books recently bought and ones that I’ve-had-for-a-long-time-and-will-read-soon-I-promise.

night table

I catalogued my latest purchases at LibraryThing yesterday, and realised that only 19 members had Varieties of Disturbances by Lydia Davis. How is that possible? Every critic, blogger and cat has been flogging this book for ages.

Anyway observant readers may think, But none of these look very threatening to me. What could she be referring to?

If you’re a blogger, this should leave you unperturbed, but if you’re a critic? Watch out!

mighty weapons

7 Responses to "Threatening pictures"

Er – I have to admit I was curious about “Varieties of Disturbances” – but not yet curious enough to pick up a copy.

Love that sparkle on the tip of the fountain pen! Very dangerous touch 🙂

I read the first two pages and it’s very odd but I think that I’ll like it. And thanks on my sparkle — I thought it looked intimidating.

Oh, I so very want that edition of Don Quixote but I’m holding for – I don’t know – the paperback (will they even offer that in paperback?). Besides, I have a perfectly good penguin edition here, which I need to get back to reading. I’ve been saying that for a few months now, but I will. Really.

The one in the picture is paperback! That version has been out for some time now, actually. You know you wanna buy it…;)

I’m late in posting a comment–thanks for sharing a photo! I can have whatever I like on the night stand, but my husband hates it when I leave a lot of stuff on the bed (so usually it gets pushed off to the floor on my side!!–must clean that up). I hate to admit, I am not familiar with the Lydia Davis book–I will have to go and check it out now!

Ha, I have the books pushed to the side too (and journals). Always a problem. Oo, you should take a look at the Davis. I don’t know if you’d like her but you’re a pretty adventurous reader.

What?! It is? When did this happen? Where was I? Excuse me, I’m making an emergency trip to the bookstore. I’ll be right back…

Leave a Reply

Archives

