The Books of My Numberless Dreams

More silly

Posted on: May 24, 2007

Your Score: Pure Nerd

82 % Nerd, 26% Geek, 26% Dork

For The Record:

A Nerd is someone who is passionate about learning/being smart/academia.

A Geek is someone who is passionate about some particular area or subject, often an obscure or difficult one.

A Dork is someone who has difficulty with common social expectations/interactions.

You scored better than half in Nerd, earning you the title of: Pure Nerd.

The times, they are a-changing. It used to be that being exceptionally smart led to being unpopular, which would ultimately lead to picking up all of the traits and tendencies associated with the “dork.” No-longer. Being smart isn’t as socially crippling as it once was, and even more so as you get older: eventually being a Pure Nerd will likely be replaced with the following label: Purely Successful.

Congratulations!

THE NERD? GEEK? OR DORK? TEST

Link: The Nerd? Geek? or Dork? Test written by donathos on OkCupid Free Online Dating, home of the The Dating Persona Test

*****

Regarding more bookish affairs, I’ve hit another reader’s block as far as novel length fiction goes. Help a gal out?

Which book should I start next?

1) To the Lighthouse or Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf
2) Brown Girl in the Ring by Nalo Hopkinson
3) A House and its Head by Ivy Compton-Burnett
4) The Land of Spices by Kate O’Brien
5) Rose of No Man’s Land by Michelle Tea
6) The Electric Michelangelo by Sarah Hall

View Results

Make your own poll

Yes, I know, it is the ugliest poll in the world. It doesn’t even work properly, one has to click on one’s choice for the vote to be submitted. WordPress prohibits javascript to protect us from the evildoers. 😦

8 Responses to "More silly"

I voted anyway! And I’m delurking to tell you so.

Oh yay, a delurker! Thanks for voting and establishing your presence. Looks like Woolf is taking an early lead.

I’ll go with Woolf’s To the Lighthouse. Only because I’m unfamiliar with the others 😉

“Electric Michelangelo” – because it’s has all those tattoos! ;p

I want to narrow down my vote! I think you should read Mrs Dalloway.

Also, I was 100% nerd. Astoundingly, I didn’t score too high in the “dork” or “no social skills” category.

It’s the best when lurkers delurk. All of a sudden, you have a new pal you never knew about!

I got 86 nerd 30 geek and 34 dork. But I sorta knew that anyway 🙂 I vot for Electric Michelangelo too, because it has tattoos and I want to read it 🙂

Literary Acquisitionist thanks for the vote and for commenting.

DarkO you know, the tattoos were actually a major draw for me, so no winky emoticon needed.

Dewey I’ll count yours as one for Dalloway. 100% nerd? I am impressed. And I like when people delurk for the same reason, even if its only once.

Stefanie I knew my scores for geek and dork would be relatively low. About the only thing that bumps my geek quotient is my Tolkien obsession and even that’s sedate compared to the true junkies.

Another vote for the Hall! I may just read both hers and Woolf at the same time.

I read the Electric Michelangelo last year and didn’t care for it. It is one of those books that is overwritten and concerns very sad people listlessly wandering through a very sad existence. Oh Woe is Me!

And AH HA! I’m nerdier than you!

( ! )

(fyi — the above symbol is me flashing my bum)

Leave a Reply

Archives

