The Books of My Numberless Dreams

Crap!

Posted on: March 28, 2007

Oprah chooses “The Road” as her new book club pick. (via Reading Copy)

I’m going to the store today so I can get it before it gets stickered. Cheers to McCarthy for all the sales though. ($$$) Maybe this will encourage stores to stock more of his back list.

To continue the fluffy news streak, take a look at the new covers for the last Harry Potter novel. What were the British thinking? The American cover looks boring it’s true, but the one for kingdom and Commonwealth looks positively batty. Good heavens, will I be forced to finally purchase the dreary adult cover (scroll to the end)? It doesn’t look…that boring.

11 Responses to "Crap!"

I need to read The Road, too. I think I will end up checking it out from the library or waiting for the paperback, though. I have to agree–the Harry Potter covers are pretty boring this time around.

The paperback should be out in a while too, I think. It’s been in hardcover for at least a year it seems.

The HP covers aren’t usually great but this time they’re lamer than usual. It’s odd that such a popular series hasn’t gotten attached to any of the better fantasy cover artists.

My thoughts exactly. I’ve already read (and loved) The Road, and now I want a copy without Oprah’s name all over it.

I think it is great about the Oprah book simply because it will effect the psuedo-intellectual boys filling up the coffeeshops. What will they do??? Now, The Road is not representative of there lives as faux-beats! What if someone mistakes them for a suburban mommy?!

And Harry on the cover of the british book looks like Stephen Colbert. WTF?

I was suprised about Oprah’s pick but I don’t think I will be quick enough to get a copy without her sticker on it.

I can appreciate the Oprah effect for the simple fact that she gets people reading but I wonder how her usual (sorry to be so general here) crowd are going to react to such a novel. I find Oprah is getting more and more pretentious and I can’t help but think that her book choices are more about her image of the benevolent giver of education and information and less about the fabulous writing that happens to encased within their covers.

I personnally am totally grateful to have received a copy sans Oprah’s stamp-o-approval. I’m also totally grateful to have read and reviewed as so not to seem to be a fan of Oprah and reading all ‘her’ books. Yes, yes – I’m a snob too.

Andi it’s a good kick in the butt for me to get it now, since I’ve been meaning to buy it for a few months now.

Amanda you crack me up. 😀 That’s exactly why I’ve never read any of the “Beat” authors–the whole aura around seems so fake and overblown and affected. That’s another plus for the Oprah camp. What will that poor literati do?

Stefanie a good surprise? I’m not complaining since it appears to be deserved financial kudos for McCarthy but I do wonder how her viewers will take it.

Heather that’s the reason I’ve always avoided the Oprah selections unless I held any particular interest in the author. She seems to be all about that utilitarian idea of literature that I can’t stand. But I don’t harp on it.

I’ve never watched any of Oprah’s bookclubs but I so hope we have our broken DVR player repaired in time for me to record McCarthy’s appearance. I cannot believe she’s convinced him to be on her show.

While I’d rather have a stickerless book than one with, at least I can rest content that there will be lots of inexpensive copies to choose from at the used book store in a few months. I read a library copy last fall and have known I’d want to own one eventually.

Yeah, I wonder how that conversation went? Oh to be a ladybug on the wall…

Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; we have developed some nice procedures and we are looking to swap solutions with other folks, be sure to shoot me an e-mail if interested.

Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email.

I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

Leave a Reply

Archives

