The Books of My Numberless Dreams

If only *achoo*

Posted on: March 26, 2007

There is nothing but fluff for you on this rainy Monday afternoon. My brain’s still on sick leave; all it could handle over the weekend was half of a LRB issue and two movies. (The Science of Sleep (yay!) and Breakfast at Tiffany’s (barf).)

I spotted this at Stefanie’s, she of the So Many Books: If I my reading ticket was clear, not a bookmark in a single book, what book–books–would I immediately start reading? Every one of them would have to be already owned.

list of books I would read right now if I weren’t presently preoccupied with four plus the usual assorted journals begging for attention

 

1. Paulina 1880 by Pierre Jean Jouve – I am quite curious about it primarily because all the information I casually searched for on the author was about his poetry rather than this novel. And I have a very big thing for french literature (from the mid 20th century and before anyway)
2. The Good Fairies of New York by Martin Millar – I made the mistake of picking Shriek as my first major fantasy read of the year. It’s now my first “stall” of the year; and it had put me off the fantasy genre in general, leaving the Hopkinson and this Millar neglected and sulky. Luckily Ysabel has improved so I may have gotten over my “fantasy block”.
3. Literature and Knowledge by Dorothy Walsh – I’m really dying to read this but I only allow myself one non-fiction book at any one time. Experience has shown that once I go over that, all but one is inevitably abandoned. But I may cheat with this one because it’s pretty small. (Can’t be much over 200 pages.)
4. Witch Craze: Terror and Fantasy in Baroque Germany by Lyndal Roper – The entire concept sounds deliciously interesting but alas the non-fiction rules apply.
5. Collected Fictions by Borges translated by Hurley – By its nature it’s a book that I’ll read in fits and starts. I usually read a few stories and then put it back in its resting place.
6. The Echo Maker by Richard Powers – I want to know if there’s anything to fuss about
7. Paris Review No. 41 – It has Nabokov!
8. Paris Review Issue No. 34 – It has Simone de Beauvoir!
9. To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf – I’d like to give this another go. I can’t remember what dissuaded me from finishing the first go-’round.
10. Rashomon and Seventeen Other Stories by Akutagawa – I’d like to read the title story before I watch the film adaptation directed by Kurosawa

7 Responses to "If only *achoo*"

The Literature and Knowledge book sounds great. The Witch Craze book is very good. I read it fairly recently. Scary and fascinating all at once.

Ah, that is exactly what I was looking for. Maybe I will cheat.

I agree with Stefanie, the Literature and Knowledge book does sound great. And I do hope you give To the Lighthouse another try — it’s one of my favorites.

Well, it had to happen sooner of later.

I have, in fact, read The Good Faries of New York. Not, oddly because it’s a fantasy novel, but because it’s by Martin Miller. He’s quite good, overall. I suppose his books are a bit fantastical though. How lowering.

Dorothy I do want to enjoy Woolf so I hope the same.

Sol well I called it “fantasy” for want of something better. He’s not shelved in the fantasy section so the book stores haven’t “lowered” him, even if I have. :p

Been eyeballing Borges myself… forever, I guess.

*gasp* What’s been stopping you? Borges is a definite must-read-before-one-dies kind of author. (Welcome! I don’t think that you’ve commented before.)

Leave a Reply

Archives

