The Books of My Numberless Dreams

New Sedaris at the New Yorker

Posted on: February 19, 2007

The way we are

Does this mean that he has a new book coming out soon? (Hmmm, nothing shows up on Amazon.) I thought he was trying too hard at the beginning of the piece but he finds his rhythm and it all works out: I at turns chuckled, guffawed or dropped my jaw for short periods of time.

His wife stirred to action then, and became almost sociable. “So this boyfriend,” she said. “Let me ask, which one of you is the woman?”

“Well, neither of us,” I told her. “That’s what makes us a homosexual couple. We’re both guys.”

“But no,” she said. “I mean, like, in prison or whatnot. One of you has to be in for murder and the other for child molesting or something like that, right? I mean, one is more like a normal man.”

3 Responses to "New Sedaris at the New Yorker"

Imani, thank you for posting that! A little Sedaris is a great way to start the day.

hoooph…”humour…Non-fiction”, I have just arrived on your bog not knowing what to expect so this was a surprise! I will look arround a bit before further comment!!!

You’re welcome charlotte.

Robert well, welcome and I hope what you find is pleasing.

Leave a Reply

Archives

