The Books of My Numberless Dreams

Fie on Poetry Friday

Posted on: January 5, 2007

I do not want to post. No, I do not. My stomach is filled with tasteless Campbell’s Chunky Beef (To Go! with a full serving of vegetables) and my brain is stuffed with chocolate. Yes, with Snickers (King Size!) and four tiny squares of Ritter-Sport Coconut Milk Chocolate from earlier in the day. Stuffed and over-stuffed. My tongue is too sweet and slightly burnt from bland packaged hot soup.

I am irked. An old black woman shuffled on to the highest floor in the library and chose to sit in the carrel immediately behind me. (Is she not familiar with library study carrel etiquette? Never sit in the spot right behind, beside or before someone unless one has no choice. Check different floors if you must.) She shuffled and sat behind me while snacking on a fruit with relish. With a very audible and annoying relish that forced me to sigh loudly. I sighed loudly when she smacked her lips and mmmed, when she left and returned to her seat repeatedly in order to talk with a strange woman or on her cell phone. I passed by her seat and scowled, looking near and far for another seat miles away from her on this near empty floor. I returned to find her peering over at my desk. I scowled. She dragged her chair in loudly. She rose, left, chatted, returned. I left in a huff to the opposite side of the floor far, far away.

A young Asian woman stopped by my carrel staring intently at my profile. I looked up and she made weird hand movements, muttering strange gibberish. I leaned a bit forward, brows furrowed in confusion.

“Huh?”

“Are you shy?” Or did she say “shine”?

“What?”

“Did you take an American sign language class?”

“No,” I shook my head.

“Oh! Hahaha, I thought you were someone else. Sorry for frightening you.”

“That’s alright.” Frightened? What my face must have looked like…

Now I’m here with you, stomach filled with cheap, unhealthy soup, head filled with chocolate, tongue slightly burnt, explaining to you why there’s no Poetry Friday.

Have a Snapple Kiwi Strawberry? It’s a Real Fruit Beverage with natural flavour and 5% actual fruit juice!

3 Responses to "Fie on Poetry Friday"

Study carrel etiquette is sacred!! I sigh in sympathy.

Hah! I enjoyed your annoying, lip-smacking woman…

Heather I am grateful for the empathy. This is something that should be taught in schools everywhere.

Marly you and my roommates. My earnest anger is pretty humorous in retrospect.

Leave a Reply

Archives

