The Books of My Numberless Dreams

I’m tired.

Posted on: January 3, 2007

I finished the Sedaris today. Starbucks was very full so I had an audience for my badly stifled laughter. Anyway book haul.

Russian Short Stories from Pushkin to Buida – ed. Robert Chandler

A Single Shard – Linda Sue Park

Me Talk Pretty One Day – David Sedaris

An Abundance of Katherines – John Green

The Penguin Classics short stories collection has been at the back of my eye for a long time. I like to think of it as a less intimidating path into Russian literature as opposed to Brothers Karamazov. A friend who knew a Yearling employee, the publishing co. that released the book, recommended A Single Shard. Then I read a review of it somewhere, oh where oh where, somewhere around here (not on wordpress, maybe blogspot?) that made it sound even more appetizing. The John Green was a Cybils YA nominee; it was not among the final five but I like the plot and found the reviews persuasive.

I took another look at the first book in that Stroud trilogy with the weird name. And again I placed it back on the shelf. I don’t know the synopsis does nothing for me and, so disheartened, I gave the first page nothing more than a half-hearted skim.

6 Responses to "I’m tired."

You might like Swap by Sam Moffie
The Curse of Carl Mays by Howard Camerik

I liked the first Bartimaeus book – the tone, more than anything else – but not quite enough to rush out and read the next one. Have you read John Green’s first book? Looking for Alaska? Also excellent.

Mr. Strabala from the look of your recommendations I am tempted to think you did not even skim my blog before you dashed to promote the historical baseball novel. Thanks anyway.

Jess Monster I think I may only read the Strouds if someone actually glues it to my hand or something.

No I haven’t read Green’s first book and did not even know my bookstore had it in-stock–it didn’t show up in their online inventory–until I was there today and saw fresh new copies turned out. If I like Abundance I’ll definitely pick it up.

imani, glad you liked the galiquan interview…

Have you read the Dudman book (2 posts below)? I’d be pleased if more people would talk about her writing.

I have not and, strangely, Chapters (the only chain in Canada) does not have her books available for order despite the recent re-releases. I admit I was uinterested when I read the descriptions on Amazan–biographical fiction? Oh no–but I re-read your post which significantly upped my interest in her books. (One Day the Ice Will Reveal it’s Dead–fantastic title–sounds good.) She’s on my shopping list.

Oh, good–thought you might like her. She is bright and curious and full of feeling.

I’m doing another rather obscure book on Monday, I think. Trying to fulfill my new year’s resolution to talk more about overlooked books…

Leave a Reply

Archives

