The Books of My Numberless Dreams

Onward to the New Year

Posted on: December 31, 2006

I would feel silly composing any kind of portentuous post when my blog is merely two months old. It is enough to wish all of my readers a wonderful new year, one filled with clarity, knowledge and authentic experiences. One where we become or remain aware, curious, critical and enthusiastic about the world in and around us. One where we all read, read, read and act!

To discover the unknown is not a prerogative of Sinbad, of Eric the Red, or of Copernicus. Each and every man is a discoverer. He begins by discovering bitterness, saltiness, concavity, smoothness, harshness, the seven colours of the rainbow and the twenty-some letters of the alphabet; he goes on to visages, maps, animals and stars. He ends with doubt, or with faith, and the almost total certainty of his own ignorance.

From the prologue of Atlas by Jorge Luis Borges, translated by Anthony Kerrigan

6 Responses to "Onward to the New Year"

And a very happy New Year to you, Imani! That’s a beautiful quote to begin it with.

It is a great quote – and those are the best new year’s wishes I’ve heard so far! I hope for the same for you.

Happy New Year, and here’s to ‘authentic experiences’…I like that!

Great post! Happy New Year!!

Thanks everyone, I’m glad everyone so appreciated my sentiments. 🙂

A belated happy new year to you, Imani! Borges inspires me to no end, so many thanks for this quote.

Leave a Reply

Archives

