The Books of My Numberless Dreams

Kate’s Calvino Meme

Posted on: December 30, 2006

Kate from Kate’s Book Blog creates some of the best memes. This one was inspired by her reading of If on a winter’s night a traveler.

the Books You’ve Been Planning To Read For Ages

Three Aristophanes plays: Lysistra, The Acharnians, The Clouds. Because I feel I ought to. The rest of Proust’s In Search of Lost Time. I was half way through the second when the dreaded *click* occured and yay, I set it aside and did not pick it up.

the Books You’ve Been Hunting For Years Without Success

I can’t think of any books that fall under that category.

the Books Dealing With Something You’re Working On At The Moment

Again, nothing that applies here.

the Books You Want To Own So They’ll Be Handy Just In Case

I do own three or four books on essay writing, grammar and typing.

the Books You Could Put Aside Maybe To Read This Summer

I am not much of a seasonal reader and do not typically associate books with any particular season. Errr…if the new Harry Potter is out by then I’ll have that. After reading this article I became interested in learning about the history of literary criticism. Considering all the other things I want to read I could safely shuffle such relevant texts to summer.

the Books You Need To Go With Other Books On Your Shelves

Richmond Lattimore’s translation of The Odyssey to go with The Iliad. Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys to go with Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. The Harsh Cry of the Heron by Lian Hearn to complete my Tales of the Otori set.

the Books That Fill You With Sudden, Inexplicable Curiosity, Not Easily Justified.

There is no book I want in which my interest could not be easily justified. I’ll follow Kate’s lead and say that the Anabasis was not the sort of book I usually express in, but the LRB review convinced me otherwise.

And I’ll add an extra from the Calvino excerpt.

the Books That If You Had More Than One Life You Would Certainly Also Read But Unfortunately Your Days Are Numbered

The Complete Poems of William Wordsworth, anything by Douglas Adams, John Updike, Chuck Paluhniuk and Tamora Pierce.

I would specifically tag persons but I’m fairly sure that they all read Kate’s blog too. Hop to it, everyone.

3 Responses to "Kate’s Calvino Meme"

This meme is fun — I’ll have to give it a try one of these days.

I too own both the Iliad and the Odyssey – I haven’t read either, but I know I bought one of them with the intention of reading it, then bought the other to go with it…

Dorothy you should, it’s a fun one even if I didn’t do much with it.

Max hahaha you really really should read The Iliad it’s fantastic and in many ways the perfect blockbuster.

Leave a Reply

Archives

