The Books of My Numberless Dreams

Firmin: Adventures of a Metropolitan Lowlife

Posted on: December 25, 2006

I turned around once in my nest. I unfolded the wad, unfolding it all the way out till it was once more a piece from a page, a page from a book, a book from a man. I unfolded it all the way out and I read: “But I’m loothing them that’s here and all I lothe. Loonely in me loneness. For all their faults. I am passing out. O bitter ending! They’ll never see. Nor know. Nor miss me. And it’s old and old it’s sad and old it’s sad and weary.” I stared at the words and they did not swim or blur. Rats have no tears. Dry and cold was the world and beautiful the words. Words of good-bye and farewell, farewell and so long, from the little one and the Big One. I folded the passage up again and I ate it.

– Sam Savage

Tears certainly welled up in my eyes as I read. I do not know that I have a lot to say about the novel, overall, but that ending and certain chapters were very affecting.

Leave a Reply

Archives

