The Books of My Numberless Dreams

Tagged « Tales from the Reading Room

Posted on: December 11, 2006

Litlove from Tales from the Reading Room tagged me for this book meme that I have also seen on various blogs.

1. Grab the book closest to you.
2. Open to page 123, scroll down to the 5th sentence
3. Post the text of next 3 sentences on your blog
4. Name of the book and the author
5. Tag 3 People

“Orodes, old and saddened by the fate of Pacorus, whose head, after he fell in the battle of Gindarus, had been sent by Ventidius, as a proof of victory, from city to city in Syria, abdicated in favour of Phraates, his eldest son. The new king, resolving to secure himself against all contingencies, instantly and treacherously murdered his father, his surviving brothers, and various prominent men. Monaeses, a powerful noble, fled with other survivors and joined Antony, who, taking instant advantage of this good fortune, promised to Monaeses the reversion of the Partian throne, and made him a present, as a pledge of good faith, of three Syrian towns, to be held till the end of the war.”

The Architect of the Roman Empire, by T.R. Holmes. The excitement never ends. I’ve reached the point where Octavian and Antony are about to flip each other the bird.

That one was on the bed. There’s a whole pile beside the bed.

‘ “Pass me the hand mirror from the table please.”

Zephyr turned away from the window slowly, took up the mirror, wiped powder off the back of it against her dress, handed it to Rema.

“I was thinking,” she said, slowly, “life has got a stick to beat us with–every last, loneseome, sufferin’ mother’s son.” ‘

The Hills were Joyful Together by Roger Mais. I cannot wait to get started on this one.

I tag Cam, Heather and Amanda if they haven’t already done this meme.

3 Responses to "Tagged « Tales from the Reading Room"

What great books! And what a combination!

I’ve done a post on this! Thanks for tagging me.

Thanks litlove. 🙂 There was another book near me, technically, but it had fallen to the floor between the bed and the wall in a little corner–a common occurrence in my room. I’m really enjoying my current reading spot.

You’re welcome, Heather. I commented.

Leave a Reply

Archives

